Ohio Homebrewers Win Medals


PORTLAND, Ore. — Two homebrewers from Ohio brought home medals from the recent 40th annual National Homebrewers Conference & Competition here, presented by the American Homebrewers Association.

Tim Lawson of Cincinnati won a silver medal in the Strong European Lager category, while Westerville’s Dan George, a member of the Scioto Olentangy Darby Zymurgists, won a bronze medal in the American Porter & Stout category.

This year’s competition featured 8,405 entries from 3,517 homebrewers located in 50 states, Washington, D.C., and 18 countries.

Among the competition’s winners were Michael Rogers of Wichita, Kan., Homebrewer of the Year; Nathan Williams of Somerville, Mass., Cidermaker of the Year; Michael Wilcox of Wichita, Kan., Meadmaker of the Year; and Greg Young of Roseville, Calif., the Samuel Adams Ninkasi Award, for accumulating the most wins in the competition.

“This has been a milestone year for the American Homebrewers Association,” said AHA Director Gary Glass. “It’s inspiring to see such a great turnout at this year’s conference, and to see such a strong camaraderie and passion among homebrewers who have traveled far and wide to celebrate their love of homebrewing.”