Four Wines Named Director’s Choice


COLUMBUS — Four Ohio wines recently were selected by Agriculture Director David T. Daniels to receive 2018 Director’s Choice honors.

This year’s recipients were Debonne Vineyards 2016 Riesling Reserve, best white wine; Meranda-Nixon Winery 2015 Estate Cabernet Sauvignon and Henke Winery 2014 Vin de Rouge, best red wine; and Kosicek Vineyards 2016 Cabernet Sauvignon Ice Wine, best dessert wine.

All of the Director’s Choice award recipients are eligible for the Ohio Quality Wine designation. It was created in 2007 by the Ohio Grape Industries Committee and is assigned to wines made from at least 90 percent Ohio-grown grapes. These wines must also achieve at least 15 of 20 points on a sensory evaluation and pass a chemical analysis before receiving the quality seal.

Nearly 20 wines were evaluated by a panel of judges, on behalf of Daniels, for this year’s awards.